On a Serious Note…

Hey there. Sorry, it’s been a while, but a lot of stuff happened that prevented me from venting. And still I’m not going to vent. At least not yet. My family and I had to go to a funeral. It was my father-in-law’s. Yes, the man with whom I almost got into a fistfight over socks. We had an interesting relationship. He was a cranky bastard at times, would be rude to waitresses, could anger Gandhi. But he actually was good with advice, was very open (even about his own shortcomings), had a sharp sense of humor, and he adored my kids. Don’t worry. This won’t be a eulogy. I just wanted to say that in spite of his being a difficult, complex man, I’m going to miss him. He and my mother-in-law live in New York, and we live here in California, so we didn’t see them all that much. But every visit was memorable, even if it was for bad reasons (fighting, yelling, threats to kill). Now that he’s gone, I realize I have a lot of memories of the guy. Whenver they’d visit us, he and I would always go see two or three movies. He’d usually sleep, or talk (which I hate), or offer me a sugarless candy right at the most climactic moment of the movie. I would get annoyed, but still I enjoyed our outtings together. And I also realize that I think I tell more stories about my father-in-law than about anyone else. He was a colorful guy. So no more new stories. But a lot of old ones. And it’s good to have them. Back to venting soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

