Unwelcome Guests…

And no, I don’t mean cockraches, although I may have occasionally used that term to describe our upcoming guests. Yes, they’re baaaa-aaaccck! My mother-in-law, sister-in-law, two nieces and their friggin’ dog are coming to visit. And they’re staying with US! In our house. Where I live. Are we clear on how I feel about this?

This is nothing personal agianst any of them. I love them all, individually. But not as a group. Who is staying with me! So the way I would normally deal with this, aside from complaining nonstop to my wife until the moment they cross our threshhold, would be to work. A LOT! As you know by now, my job is my sanctuary. Usually just from my immediate family, but even more-so from my extended family. But there’s a problem.

His name is Dennis. I agree, you don’t hear that name much anymore these days. Dennis is my boss’s nephew. He’s 19, on summer break from some college (hey, my boss is lucky I listened when he said his name, forget hearing what college he went to!), and he’s going to work here for the summer. With me. Are you friggin’ kidding me?! Sorry, I promise not to use “friggin’” anymore.

And don’t get me wrong. Dennis is a good kid. I even like him. He’s smart, a quick learner, he’s even making my job easier. But he’s a kid. Which reminds me of my kids. Which reminds me of home. Which reminds me of the visiting cockroaches. I mean relatives. And this puts me in a sour mood. And now suddenly, my sanctuary isn’t! And that is unacceptable.

So, you see my dilemma, right? I have to get rid of Dennis, whom I like, so as not to think about the relatives, whom I don’t like. Visiting me, that is. The one good thing is that now I have to work on a plan that will return my job to its sanctuariness. And the challenge of that will be just the distraction I need.

And you thought my life was simple. Anyway, go about your visitor-free lives, as I try to reclaim my “Thank god it’s Monday” workplace. I’ll keep you posted. By the way, any of you got any room in your house?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unwelcome Guests…

  1. Worker Bee says:

    Does Dennis have a sister?
    I’m just sayin’

  2. Karen says:

    Hospitality is making your guests feel like they’re at home, even if you wish they were.

    Some cause happiness wherever they go, others whenever they go.

Leave a Reply

